FlexiSpy Review, Now the Most Advanced Monitoring Software?

Welcome to my review of Flexispy, an older program with a brand new approach, it looks set to take the lead in the spy software market – at least in terms of the advanced monitoring features. Is it safe, is it reliable and is it worth the money? Ah, the questions – I’ll do my best to give you my impressions, so read on….

With the recent suspension of StealthGenie, due to a legal case against their CEO, I wanted to take another look at some similar programs and review your options. I have used FlexiSpy in the past and whilst it worked well, I thought it was too expensive compared to the competition. But … things have changed for the better!

You can take a look at the improved Flexispy website here.

 

Now with all the changes being made in the spy phone software market – Mobilespy and mSpy both withdrawing their recording features – Mobile Spy is no longer Hidden! – FlexiSpy has suddenly become the unique product (more on Why later). Their Premium version is relatively expensive – but do you really need it?

So, out with the credit card and I bought the latest version of FlexiSpy Extreme for testing. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised – they have been busy since I last tried them about two years ago. As always my reviews are real and I have tested the programs before recommending them.

New and Updated September 2017

flexispy review image

Flexispy Monitoring

The website now looks and acts like it is a premium product. Looks aren’t everything, what is more important is the re-design of their Control Center – the main reporting dashboard where you login to view and operate your account.

The front end of the website may be important to present a professional image and to give you confidence in the company but the real action happens in the Control Center. It now has the most user friendly dashboard that I have used – well designed with everything clearly laid out. Reports are quick and easy to see and the controls for setting alerts or remote commands are simple to understand and use.

Times have changed – not so long ago you needed detailed instructions just to find your way around the user panels!

Phones and Devices – Compatible Versions

You can monitor Android phones and tablets with internet capability, iPhones and iPads, BlackBerry and Nokia Symbian cell phones. As always it is important to remember that the devices must have some sort of internet access (data and/or Wi-Fi) and the operating system needs to be supported. Apple devices must be Jailbroken before you can install any spy software programs. Here is the current list – I keep this updated regularly :

  • Android Phones and Tablets – supported up to version 6.
  • iPhone / Apple Devices – support up to iOS 9.0.x
  • BlackBerry – supported up to version 7.1
  • Nokia Symbian – Anna and Belle based.

Some features will only be available with certain types of device so you will need to check their site and make sure that the features you want are covered for your phone version. For example, call recording is only available for rooted Android devices.

New Installation Services!

They have just released a new White glove installation service – for the technically challenged! Now you can have an expert Root Android or Jailbreak your iPhone/ iPad and install Flexispy on your device – for a $39 fee.

You need to have the device in your possession and be able to connect it to your PC or laptop. You schedule a time and a technical support person will be able to do the complete setup by remote assistance on your PC. This is a Big deal for many people who fear trying to Jailbreak or Root – let alone install the software themselves. You can find out more on their website and select the installation at checkout.

Standard Features

They offer two different monitoring packages – FlexiSpy Extreme with all the bells and whistles, and FlexiSpy Premium, competitively priced with standard features. On the website they have a handy comparison page where you can quickly see the difference between different versions.

The standard features cover all of the usual monitoring features you would expect such as : call logs, email, IM chat messengers, GPS locations, images, videos and audio, contacts, browsing history, bookmarks and social sites – all monitored on the cheaper Premium version.

Social and Chat Messenger Services

Here they have the most comprehensive list of services that can be monitored – so important today as more people use these different platforms to communicate instead of SMS texting. They cover 13 services  :

Facebook, Facebook messenger, Viber, WhatsApp, Line, WeChat, Skype, Hangouts, Yahoo messenger, SnapChat, iMessage, BB Messenger and BB Pin. Keep checking as they add new services. Again it is necessary to check that your phone type covers the services you want to view.

Advanced Monitoring

The Extreme version has just become the leader in a field of one! They are the only company currently offering the following :

  • Live Call Intercept
  • Call Recording
  • Ambient Recording – phone surroundings

If you really need any of these features, FlexiSpy is your ONLY option. Due to the Stealthgenie case no other providers offer this type of monitoring – Mobilespy and mSpy have stopped offering any recording features. Flexispy continue to do so because they are based outside the U.S.A. and have no worries about being shut down. This does NOT mean that you can use their software for illegal purposes – they stress this on their website. See my own legal updates and stay within the law.

I expect the other companies to return to offering call recording in the future, but for now Flexispy is unique!

Does it Work?

I have been testing the advanced features and for the most part they work reliably. The recording works well on a rooted Android when you have good call connection quality. I know that people in areas with poor mobile reception have reported some problems with the call recording features in the past. A sketchy connection can lead to only part of a conversation being recorded. I recommend using VLC Media player for playing back any recordings – works better than Windows Media player!

Call Intercept – For some this can be a really useful feature – if it works for your phone. It works by adding your phone to a conversation, like a conference call but you stay muted and just listen. The target phone needs to allow 3 way calling so you need to check your carrier service. Some business users and parents do find it useful, but I must admit it isn’t the most important feature to me – a bit of overkill.

Live call intercept is now available for the iPhone and iPad as well as Android devices. You can also listen to VOIP calls – made using Skype, Viber and WhatsApp – the actual calls!

Other Features

Everyone tends to focus on the big features such as call intercept and recording, but there are some really useful ones to look at – adding real value.

Alerts and Keywords – you can set up alerts (sent to your own phone/email) for specific phone numbers or to spot certain keywords – think drugs or profanity.

App Blocking – you can view all apps installed on the device and close them or even uninstall remotely.

Update and Upgrade Remotely – once Flexispy has been installed, you never need to access the target device again. Many features have been integrated and can be controlled from the Control Center – including installing any software updates or even upgrading to their Extreme version. You can also stop, start or remove the software without further access to the target phone.

Password Cracker – this is a new feature and is free with the Extreme package – but you can buy it separately on the website. It is basically a keylogger – once installed and activated it will record any passwords / codes / login details entered on the device. This allows you to see every username and password entered on the device for social sites and messenger services. It will even record the passkey to unlock the target phone (but the software must be installed beforehand).

Again, from a legal perspective, you must be sure you have a legal right to access these details – kids and employees only!

Advanced Tracking – the app can track the phone and show its location at any given time using a live map. You can also view

location tracking screen

Location tracking dashboard

historical locations – where the device has been over a given period. You can also set location boundaries and receive alerts if the device enters or leaves a pre-defined area – really easy to set up in the main Control Center.

The two versions available really do offer some unique features, all managed in a slick dashboard. So let’s look at the pricing.

FlexiSpy Pricing

Both packages are now available in shorter terms as well as one year subscriptions :

FlexiSpy Extreme      3 months $199     1 yr – $349   (includes free Password Cracker)

FlexiSpy Premium    1 month $68      3 months $99     and 1 yr – $149

The Premium version is actually good value and competes well with other products such as Mobilespy, mSpy and MobiStealth. The Extreme version is expensive, but this is the only software that can intercept calls, record calls and phone surroundings. If you need these features, I’m afraid you have to pay quite a lot – the 3 month option allows you to use it, try it and save some cash! It really will come down to the monitoring capabilities you feel you need. One bit of good news though, there are no added taxes and no VAT charges – these are the prices you pay.

Why Chose This One?

The obvious reason above – the advanced features. Another couple of good reasons to buy Flexispy I have discovered :

It is very well hidden. They have really set out to create the most securely hidden spy software on the market. There is even a feature to hide the Cydia app after Jailbreaking or the SuperUser app after Rooting Android. The software has no recognizable files and will not show up in the application list or the task manager. They claim it does not get flagged by antivirus software (I haven’t tested it fully yet, but didn’t get flagged by Lookout Security).

It is user friendly! This is something that many will overlook, until they come to install and use the software. It comes with an installation wizard – which guides you easily through the installation process. Many people struggle with installing spy software apps and FlexiSpy are ahead of the competition, making it the easiest to install – dare I say fool proof?

You can transfer your license to any device (even cross platform). Most software companies only allow you to change to a phone of the same operating system. With Flexispy, if your target phone is changed from Android to iPhone for example, you can simply deactivate one and transfer your valid license to the new phone.

Customer Service and Support

Flexispy have always had a good reputation for their support services. They have 24 hour 6 days a week email and live chat support. Another good thing you can check out on their website – lots of resources to get started and get the most from the software. They have a detailed support section with Knowledge base articles and extensive video tutorials – a great place to check out how everything works in detail even before buying.

Installation Service – their technicians can Root or Jailbreak and install Flexispy for you – great for some people!

Refund Policy – they have a 10 day full refund policy and they honor it – gives you a little peace of mind when deciding to make the purchase.

Multiple Languages supported – at the moment the site is available in: English, Espanol, Italiano, Russian, Chinese, Turkish, Portuguese, Deutsch and Thai.

FlexiSpy Review – My Verdict

Would I recommend FlexiSpy monitoring software? Without a doubt – but think about what you need to monitor before making your decision. The Extreme version is the only one of its kind at the moment – if you really need the ability to record calls etc. you have no other choice. It is expensive, but good things cost money!

If standard monitoring is all that you need then it is a straight race between Flexispy, and mSpy – all in a similar price range at least for yearly contracts. They do differ in the features and services they can monitor so there is no quick answer – you need to look at each one and pick the features that matter most to you.

You can Buy FlexiSpy and visit their website at this link – see what you think!

One last thing to consider. With the recent takedown of StealthGenie things have changed and the companies based in the U.S. are trying to comply with the law. Flexispy is not U.S. based and is very unlikely to be taken down at any time – just be aware that you need to stay within the laws of your country – and stay safe.

Be Sociable, Share!

57 Responses to FlexiSpy Review, Now the Most Advanced Monitoring Software?

  1. sarah November 6, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    Will this work on Android 4.4.3?
    Is Flexispy legal?
    Would like your advice – thanks.

    • Susan Kennedy November 6, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

      Yes up to android 4.4.3 works now – they usually catch up to the latest versions pretty quickly after release.
      It is legal to buy and use as long as you follow the guidelines – see my legal article. Basically you can legally monitor your kids phones and employees (company owned phones). Thanks for your question and good luck.

  2. mj November 12, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    what happens if interent or data connection gets turned off , and the phone connects to wifi once or maybe twice a day. or late night. also would the logs be saved or if the messages are deleted right away are they still loggged to be uploaded later

    • Susan Kennedy November 13, 2014 at 3:44 pm #

      Everything will be logged as it happens and then uploaded to the reporting dashboard when there is an internet connection. The GPS tracking will obviously only show the historical data – not the live location, without an internet connection.

  3. Bar December 9, 2014 at 8:30 am #

    For Hangouts, what information is tracked? Texts? Voice Calls? Video Calls? More?

    • Susan Kennedy December 10, 2014 at 10:24 am #

      With Hangouts monitoring you will see the logs of all activity, including texts and voice calls but not video calls – although they will be logged with date and time. Hope that helps.

  4. Tony December 12, 2014 at 1:24 am #

    I have a couple of questions
    1) im interestered in the 3 month extreme package is the crack code app included free?
    2) is facebook both sides of the conversation recorded
    3) when i root the target phone im gonna put a custom keyboard on the phone would this work with the keyboard logger i know with mspy i had to use the android default keyboard.

    • Susan Kennedy December 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

      Yes the password cracker is included, both sides of FB messages will be reported. I’m not sure about the custom keyboard to be honest – that’s a new question I haven’t come across! You might need to contact their support for that one. Thanks for your questions and good luck.

  5. sultan December 24, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

    how many cell phone i can monitor with flexispy

    • Susan Kennedy December 30, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

      You can monitor one device per license. If you need to monitor more, I’m afraid you need to pay for each one.

  6. jen January 27, 2015 at 8:28 pm #

    does flexi spy let you see multimedia text messages? like if someone texts my daughter images, i can view them? also can i have access to their photo and video gallery?

    • Susan Kennedy January 29, 2015 at 5:28 pm #

      Yes it will show any pictures – plus any pictures and videos stored in the phone. It will report almost everything on the target phone from pictures and contacts to memos and calendars.

  7. yusoff khan January 31, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

    hi..can i monitor all whatsapp msgs,viber etc without rooting target’s mobile phone?

    • Susan Kennedy February 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm #

      Those features do require Android phones to be Rooted – it is easy enough to do, don’t let that put you off.

  8. Rudy February 1, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    Do u provide ambient listening

    • Susan Kennedy February 10, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

      Flexispy supports ambient listening (surroundings listening) on their extreme package – you can record the surroundings.

  9. recardocan March 7, 2015 at 5:54 pm #

    Can i switch to another mobile to monitor after testing monitoring my phone per one linceance?, i understand that i will not be able to monitor my mobile after start monitoring the next one.

    • Susan Kennedy March 9, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

      Yes you can transfer the license to another phone at any time – as long as it has been removed from the previous phone.

  10. jojo March 13, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

    Thank you SO much for your reviews & for keeping them updated! I was searching for unbiased info for hours before I came across this!

  11. Kaushik April 13, 2015 at 8:49 am #

    Hello,

    1. Doesn’t the target android phone need to be rooted for Flexispy to be installed?
    2. For monitoring whatsapp, viber and FB messenger chats, does the target phone need to be rooted?
    3. How long does it take for Flexispy to be installed?

    Thanks.

    • Susan Kennedy April 13, 2015 at 9:38 am #

      An Android phone doesn’t have to be rooted to install Flexispy – but some features DO need rooting – mainly social monitoring such as WhatsApp, Viber Facebook etc. Basic features will still work without rooting, but to get all features you should root the device.
      Installation only takes a few minutes – allow 10 – 15 if it is your first time, but it can be done in 5 minutes with a good internet connection. Hope this helps.

      • Sarah May 9, 2015 at 4:59 pm #

        I have an android samsung galaxy note 3. I have looked into rooting it but it seemed difficult. Currently running lollipop. Where could i find out how to do it if Im not tech savy and how different would the phone look/act?

        • Susan Kennedy May 14, 2015 at 9:46 am #

          Rooting is easy enough don’t be afraid of it – I have a guide on the site here it also has links to resources with more information. Flexispy also have rooting information on their website and they allow you to easily hide the fact that it has been Rooted.

      • John Purcell March 5, 2017 at 11:06 pm #

        Hi, once i have used the pw code to access the target phone, after rooting the phone will the recipient’s pw lock be deactivated and would the recipient notice any changes to the device after being rooted?? Or would it appear no different than before…

        • Susan Kennedy March 6, 2017 at 3:46 pm #

          It will not effect the password lock – all will appear as before.

  12. Raju S May 19, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

    If i purchase one flexispy software for one mobile after completing work with that mobile can i able to reinstall it to another mobile

    • Susan Kennedy June 7, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

      Yes you can transfer the license between phones, but only monitor one at a time per license. You de-activate the first then install on the next one. I have done this several times when testing different phones and devices.

  13. Len May 23, 2015 at 3:04 am #

    If sim card is changed in the device, will i still be able to track that device? Thanks.

    • Susan Kennedy June 7, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

      Yes – the software is installed on the phone, not the SIM card. Hope that helps.

  14. Goingcrazy June 7, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

    Thanks for your great reviews. Do you know if either mSpy or FlexiSpy can recover deleted texts or contact information

    • Susan Kennedy June 7, 2015 at 7:29 pm #

      They can’t recover messages deleted before the software was installed – but once the software is installed any messages deleted after sending or being received will still be available to view. Hope that helps.

  15. Tony June 27, 2015 at 9:37 am #

    Great reviews thank you. If I start with the premium package and later want to upgrade to the extreme package can I do this just by paying the difference or do I need to reinstall the program on the target phone? Thanks.

    • Susan Kennedy July 7, 2015 at 10:48 am #

      You can upgrade without having to re-install the software in most cases. One exception I can think of is if you have not rooted Android before installing and then want to root (to get the extra features) you would need to re-install the software. Hope that helps.

  16. Mike July 23, 2015 at 11:41 pm #

    I understand that In order for a targeted phone to be able to download the flexispy software, it needs to have the unknown source box checked, but say after it is unchecked, does the software still continue to run.

    • Susan Kennedy July 31, 2015 at 1:03 pm #

      Yes – it will continue to work. You need to check the box to be able to install the software initially, after that it doesn’t matter. Thanks.

  17. Clare July 25, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

    Can I use this software on multiple devices n only pay one price

    • Susan Kennedy July 31, 2015 at 1:01 pm #

      I’m afraid not – 1 license per device. You can however move the license to another device (after removing it from the first) – it is transferable within your license term. Hope that makes sense!

  18. Alex August 22, 2015 at 9:38 pm #

    What kinda data traffic generates flexispy during uploading/viewing targeted phone? And can I activate WI-FI on targeted phone in order to minimize mobile data?

    • Susan Kennedy August 25, 2015 at 6:28 pm #

      The data transfers are not an issue, very small unless there are long videos (and you can chose to ignore video uploads). The data is transferred in “packets” and are never noticed. You can set the target phone to upload when in range of wi-fi if you are still concerned. Thanks for the question.

  19. Nicole September 6, 2015 at 1:04 pm #

    Is Flexispy undetectable even if the target phone is not rooted?

    • Susan Kennedy September 15, 2015 at 1:20 am #

      Yes that is correct. It is one of the hardest programs to detect.

  20. Jessica September 18, 2015 at 11:12 pm #

    Does this software work in French Polynesia or only in the USA?

    • Susan Kennedy September 21, 2015 at 3:49 am #

      Hi, it will work anywhere in the world as long as there is an internet connection – wi-fi or data. Thanks for your question.

  21. Bruce October 7, 2015 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi,
    thanks for your reviews they are very helpful. I have a couple questions. I have a Galaxy Samsun S5, will this program work with my phone?

    -I’m going to clean up my phone in other words I’m resetting the entire phone, should I install this app before the phone is wiped out or afterwards, or does a make a difference?

    -What happens if the monitored phone gets damage/stolen. Can you cancel the membership?

    Thanks in advance

    • Susan Kennedy October 9, 2015 at 4:03 am #

      Hi there,
      It will work on your phone; reset the device and then install the software – the other way round would remove it again! ; your membership is valid for the term you choose – it can be transferred to another device and of course you can choose not to renew again when you no longer need the software.
      I hope that helps – thanks for your questions.

  22. Jeff November 14, 2015 at 2:18 pm #

    Will it monitor private messages sent through Instagram?

    • Susan Kennedy November 21, 2015 at 5:18 am #

      Yes – Instagram monitoring is now supported.

  23. Mike November 28, 2015 at 2:07 pm #

    My girlfriend’s phone is monitored by her brother, I can’t contact her coz her messenger apps are all blocked. She can’t receive my messages & I can’t receive her messages in Wechat, Skype, etc….

    Can someone monitor her phone without downloading spy software onto her phone?
    or can someone spy remotely using Flexispy or other spy programs ?

    • Susan Kennedy December 5, 2015 at 5:08 am #

      The spy software is able to block specific apps and or webpages. It will have been installed physically, not remotely – but once it is on there it can be controlled remotely from the online dashboard. It works – as you have found out. Thanks for your question and good luck.

  24. MB November 29, 2015 at 10:28 pm #

    Hello and thank you for this review. I plan to purchase a one month license and after that, I would like to make sure every possible bit of detectability is removed from the target phone. If I got the target device back, is there a way to uninstall it so it’s not accidentally discovered at some future date?
    I know I’m pretty late on this thread, but I would love to know.

    • Susan Kennedy December 5, 2015 at 5:03 am #

      Hi there, you can easily remove the software without even touching it physically – from the online dashboard, there is a command to remove the software. It is not reversible and you would need to re-install if you ever need to monitor again. No trace will be left behind. Hope that helps.

  25. George January 20, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

    hello, My child has found a way around the usual monitoring techniques on his phone. Does an android galaxy note 5 need to be rooted in order for the password cracker to work? I don’t want to root the phone and void the warranty. What type or Keylogger is available for non-rooted phones?

    • Susan Kennedy February 6, 2016 at 10:43 am #

      Yes, the password cracker does require rooting Android I’m afraid (all similar programs will too). Don’t be afraid of rooting – as to voiding your warranty, that’s not always true and of course the process is very easily reversed – just update Android and the Root is removed, it is that simple. Hope that helps and good luck.

  26. Sarah Storm September 8, 2016 at 2:26 am #

    Hello!
    Does Flexispy use up a lot of the target phones data? I currently use Mobistealth but it has been a nightmare as far as data usage goes It has caused the data used to triple on the phone it is installed on! Definitely need to find an alternative that won’t cause my cell phone bill to go crazy…
    Thanks for your time 🙂

    • Susan Kennedy September 12, 2016 at 11:28 am #

      Sounds like something isn’t set up correctly – data increase should not be a problem. The modern programs send the data in very small “data packets” so that they are not detectable. One thing that could cause problems is if you set the program to download all videos on the target device (and they have a lot). Large videos can cause an increase in the data use – but you can limit this in the settings.

  27. gamma June 5, 2017 at 3:30 am #

    will it work in India? can I listen to the conversations or recordings of conversatoins?

    • Susan Kennedy June 15, 2017 at 3:53 pm #

      It will work anywhere with an internet connection including the call listening and recording features.

Leave a Reply

*