mSpy Review from a Real User 2017

This is a regularly updated, Real review of mSpy – the popular cell phone spy software program. Why should you read this one? Because I have actually tested this software, in fact it is installed on my phone now. Read this and compare it to the other mSpy reviews – don’t forget to check the comments – lots of questions answered at the bottom.

Updated June 2017!

New Features! – Find the Latest Added Features Here

The latest release now includes a way to have limited monitoring of iPhones and iPads Without Jailbreaking. It is basically a replacement for Phonesheriff Investigator which was recently withdrawn by the makers of Mobile Spy. It is included with every version of mSpy at no extra cost. Read more about it in the main review below.

  • Keylogger – now available for both Android and iPhone (iOS)
  • Snapchat Monitoring just released

Discount codes when available          at this link

Now featuring Tinder Spy – the main program can now monitor everything on Tinder – matches, pictures and messages sent and received – the fist spy app to do so!

MSpy are now the best selling spy software on the market – with a good range of features and competitive pricing backed up by a reliable company – they look set to keep growing. Find out why in the rest of my review….

Full Review

Before I do a full review and recommend any product, I test it and use it for a few months to see just how good or bad the product is. This is the only way to be able to give good advice about any product.

mspy review

Check Out mSpy

I first tested mSpy about a year ago but decided against doing a full review. At that time it was one of the newest programs and it worked well enough for me. I was reluctant to recommend it as it just didn’t offer anything different to StealthGenie and being relatively new made it a slightly more risky choice. (Ironic – given Stealthgenie’s demise!)

The two products were quite similar and my view then was why take a chance on an untested product against one which was has a proven track record? I kept getting people asking about m Spy – does it work, is it any good?

I gave in and decided to give it another run. It really has come on and it does indeed offer an alternative to the competition – with some unique features of its own.

If you’ve read any of my other reviews you’ll know I don’t just do a full run down of the features.

For a list of the MSpy features you should visit their website here.

I will concentrate on what makes it a little different looking at a few advanced features and try to give you the information you need to make an informed decision.

Compatible Phones and Devices

m-Spy works on cell phones as well as Tablets – the important thing to remember is that it must match the OS (operating system) version of the target device.

  • Android Phones and Tablets – all versions 4 onwards
  • iPhone and iPad up to iOS 9.0.2

 

Although the software will work on all of these types of phone you should check their website for up to date version support plus they have lists of actual phones by make and model. Always check the features available for each type of phone as they are slightly different for each.

Advanced Features from MSpy

As well as covering all of the expected monitoring features – text logs, call logs, email, tracking and browser history etc. it also has some useful advanced features to set it apart.

Monitor Messenger Services – will monitor activity on WhatsApp, Viber, Skype, Snapchat, iMessage(iPhone only), Telegram and Facebook Messenger. These features available for Rooted Android devices and the iPhone/iPad. Now they have added Tinder monitoring to the list.

Call Blocking – you can define phone numbers and block incoming calls from them.

Website Blocking – block access to pre-defined websites.

App Blocking – you can view all installed apps on the target phone and choose which ones to block. Great tool for managing your kid’s phone and internet use.

Keylogger – This is unique to mSpy. The Keylogger feature can report all things typed on the target cell phone – messages, passwords, login details and emails – extremely powerful feature. Now works on Android and iOS devices (iPhone/iPad).

Management Features – they have some useful ways to manage how the reporting is set up. You can set reporting to be sent to the control panel by Wi-Fi only, by any connection or none. This is very useful and avoids any data being sent using the target cell phones data plan. You can also set reporting intervals and GPS intervals.

Security Features – lock the phone, wipe phone data, sim change notification, start, pause or delete the app – all from the online control panel.

mSpy With No Jailbreak Required!

This is a new added feature for Apple devices – iPhone and iPad, all versions. The add-on is included with all purchases of m-Spy for mobile devices – no extra cost!

How it Worksmspy with no jailbreak

For the regular versions of mSpy all Apple devices must be Jailbroken – easy enough for most people. If for some reason Jailbreaking your iPhone is not possible you can use this feature to monitor the target phone. The device must be using the (free) iCloud backup service and you need to have the users Apple ID. No physical access to the phone is required!

Obviously this method has it’s limitations and the monitoring is less extensive and relies on updates from the backup service – but it can be a useful way to have at least some monitoring capability, when Jailbreaking is not possible.

You can monitor: Call logs, Text messages, Contacts, Browser history, WhatsApp, Skype, Line, Facebook Messenger, Events and Notes.

This is an added extra – there is no charge for this service and it is provided free with all mobile monitoring packages of mSpy. Of course if you are using the full capabilities of the software with a Jailbroken device – you can just ignore it.

Anything Else Special?

They offer a premium support service – MAssistence. This is not required and is a separate purchase for those who need it. It is a great idea for those worried about the technicalities of installing the software.

For a few dollars extra ($43.99) you get remote assistance and a technician will Jailbreak or Root your device and install MSpy for you – you will need the target phone and a computer/laptop. They guarantee to get you started! You can select this option on the checkout page during the buying process and it is available after purchase as well.

It is a great idea but unnecessary for most people – installing the software is not that technically challenging. I have not used the premium support so I can’t verify how good it is but if you are worried about the technical side it might be worth considering.

They have a clean and easy to follow website – I like that on the buying page it is very clear which features are supported by each price subscription – not always the case with some products.

Ten Day Money Back Guarantee – always check the terms, but good to know you can get a refund if you are not satisfied.

Telephone Support – as well as live chat and email support you can talk directly to their staff by phone. This is long overdue in the spy software market. We are dealing with technical products and it is reassuring to know that help is available.

Demo Site – they have a live demo site – good to check around how the different features are reported and get a feel for how everything will work. I definitely recommend you check it out.

Pricing

They offer two packages – mSpy Basic and mSpy Premium. Basic is as it sounds and covers only the standard monitoring features such as text and call logs, web history, GPS tracking etc. All the fancy features are in the Premium version.

  • Basic 1 month costs   $29.99
  • Basic 3 month costs  $59.99
  • Basic 1 year                  $99.99
  • Premium 1 month     $69.99
  • Premium 3 month     $119.99
  • Premium 6 month     $149.99
  • Premium 1 year          $199.99

The one month options are good if you only need reporting for a short period of time or you just want to try the software out. Obviously the longer term options are better value. It is good to have the choice.

They also do a Bundle Kit – to monitor your desktop PC and smartphone. Plus they have good discounts if you need to buy more than one license.

Reliable Company?

mSpy is sold by MTechnology Ltd. – a company with offices in the U.S and the U.K. They do a lot to reassure their customers with good support options, including phone numbers. Ten day money back guarantee. Payments are securely processed by credit and debit cards and of course Pay-Pal.

They have been selling mSpy and developing it for over two years now and have quickly moved to compete with the market leaders – I think they are stable and likely to around for the foreseeable future!

Is It Right for You?

As always you need to work out what features you really need and then look at your available options and of course the costs involved. For standard monitoring features and price – m-Spy is hard to beat. Mobile Spy is no longer recommended as it is no longer hidden!

But perhaps you need a little bit more in terms of features. FlexiSpy Extreme will offer more advanced features including call recording, call interception and ambient recording – but it is more expensive. These two are the best available options right now.

With mSpy you get the Keylogger feature and some good management options – they also have the No Jailbreak option. In terms of support options perhaps the phone support and the premium support options could make it the best choice for your needs.

 

You can visit the mSpy website here

 

I like the product. It works as described, the company was professional and their website and control panel is well designed and works well. It’s really down to your needs in terms of features which product you choose. I hope this mSpy review has given you something to consider when looking for a quality spy software program.

Don’t forget to check the comments below – lots of answers to common questions about the program!

Be Sociable, Share!

155 Responses to mSpy Review from a Real User 2017

  1. mark k September 16, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    How well hidden is this software? I know some others are easily spotted and kids can get around them. Also will the data show up on the bill? Thanks

    • Susan Kennedy September 18, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      mSpy is very well hidden. It also handles the data uploads in small packets so that they will not be noticed. Another stealth feature is that mSpy does not use SMS text commands to control reporting – it is done directly from the online control panel. Nothing on your bill will indicate the presence of the software.

  2. d fitzerald September 21, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    What about battery drain with mspy? Also does mspy cause the phone to light up by itself?

    • Susan Kennedy September 23, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      I have had no problems with battery drain, or the phone lighting up – this was something which happened with the older software programs. In the early versions the data was handled differently and battery drain was common – Not anymore, as long as you stick to the better programs.

  3. Steve October 2, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Can you please describe the installation process? mSpy is only product you featured that does not provide installation instructions on its website. Instead, you have to buy product first and then view instructions by logging in to online panel. This makes me nervous!

    • Susan Kennedy October 7, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      There is no need to be nervous – they actually guide you through the installation very well. They all follow a similar pattern – don’t forget to check out my article about installing spy software – Here.
      Their installation wizard is one of the easiest to follow – I guess it would be more reassuring if they had a version printed on their website though.

  4. Don October 28, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

    Hi Susan. Thanks for the site and the Q & A’s.

    –As far as you know, are any of these spy software compatible with ios 7?

    –As far as you know….is there any of these spy softwares that can be used on Iphones without being jailbroken?

    Thanks, Susan..
    Don

    • Susan Kennedy October 29, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi there – all iPhones must be Jailbroken, no exceptions. There is now support for ios 7.1.2. Hope that is of help.

  5. jay November 4, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    Hello Susan. Mspy’s help menu says that their keylogging function only works on Andriods that are NOT rooted. I couldn’t get it to work on my unrooted tablet (but to be honest I’m not sure if the tablet is Androiid 2.2 or greater – didn’t check). What is the real situation – rooted or unrooted? Thanks

    • Susan Kennedy November 5, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      The keylogger feature requires the device to be Rooted.

      • Ahmed November 30, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

        Hi Suzanne,

        Thanks for the nice review ! You mentioned that it supports Android OS up to v4.1 are you sure that it does not support v4.2, Jelly Bean? I just checked with the Sales auto-chat on their website and they told me it does support Android v4.2, and now I’m afraid that automated chat would be wrong !

        Please help.

        • Susan Kennedy December 1, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

          You are correct they do offer Android OS 4.2 support. Thanks for pointing that out – I have updated my article.

  6. GLORIA November 5, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    I purchased a similar product but the gps locator system was so far off because it was using cell phone towers instead of gps satellite. Is this gps locator accurate?

    • Susan Kennedy November 6, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Yes this type is very accurate – it uses the phones GPRS signal for tracking. Some programs only use the cell towers to show approximate locations and are very inaccurate – you want to avoid them. Great question!

      • averysexyguy November 8, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

        Hey Susan, can I use it on my iPad? Or I need to jailbreak it as well?

        • Susan Kennedy November 11, 2013 at 10:02 am #

          Hi there, you can use it on the iPad but the same rules apply- it must be Jailbroken and the OS version needs to be supported. Good luck and thanks for your question.

  7. Paul November 15, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    You really come off as an mspy employee. Your article is more of a sales pitch in my opinion. You speak as if you’re part of the product team with statements such as iOS 7 support soon, ect.

    How do we know you’re not an employee and just an unbiased reviewer? You didn’t even cover some of the other more popular solutions like teensafe or mobistealth. I mean you don’t even have to jailbreak your phone to use teensafe and it already supports iOS 7. Explain how this is better than solutions like that, when with this solution you have to void your phones warranty and it doesn’t even support the latest OS?

    Love to hear a response here.. I guessing which posts show up are cherry picked though.

    • Susan Kennedy November 16, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      You are entitled to your opinion! So you think I work for mSpy – wow! If you read my reviews you will notice that I do not recommend any single product – instead I explain some of the times one might be better than the other. For example in this mSpy review I state “For standard monitoring features and price – Mobile Spy is hard to beat” – I don’t think my “employers” would be happy about that. Would an mSpy sponsored site be positively reviewing other products?

      You mention ios7 support – I was answering a question about Jailbreaking – the Jailbreak is provided by other sites not the spy software companies.

      “You didn’t even cover some of the other more popular solutions like teensafe or Mobistealth” – you think they are more popular than the products I cover on this site? Really? Mobistealth is one of the oldest spy software programs around and it shows. Teensafe is a totally different type of product and to use it you need the target phones Apple ID – and its reporting is very limited (if it works – I have not tried it). I do not claim to cover every monitoring program on this site – only the ones I have experience with and that actually work. I don’t recommend Mobistealth because it is not as good as Stealthgenie or mSpy – in my opinion.

      As for voiding your phone warranty you need to read up a bit more on Jailbreaking and realize it is reversible.

      Anyway, thank you for your valuable and well thought out input. I do believe you have helped other users especially any that have looked at some of the other spy software sites around. Good luck.

      • Damon March 27, 2015 at 5:23 pm #

        Loved this response. I guess they now know you don’t “cherry pick the comments”

        lol

  8. Mike November 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    Hi,

    I have a query re Android phones running OS 4.1.2.

    If I choose to ROOT the Android and subsequently install the mspy software, will the Superuser Icon be hidden / made invisible by the software? I do NOT want the target phone to reflect that it is ROOTED. Flexispy claims that their software helps HIDE the SU icons. Can you please explain?

    Thanks
    Mike

    • Susan Kennedy November 26, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      There are different ways to hide the Superuser App – do a Google search. One way I have used is to install – Hide My Root – available free on the Google Play Store. Very quick and easy to use.

  9. James November 30, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    Hi,
    I also have a question.
    If I put Mspy on the target tablet(its one with a sim card),but the installation will be done wthout a sim card,will it work if the target user puts his sim card in it a few days later?

    • Susan Kennedy December 1, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      Yes that works – it is better to do the setup with the sim in place and check everything is working correctly. If that is not possible, installing without the sim card will still work.

  10. James December 1, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    And why does is work better if you install it with sim card?
    What will happen if you install it and put the sim card after?
    Because installing without sim card is my only option.

    • Susan Kennedy December 1, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      As I said – it will still work. It is only better in that you can test that everything is working correctly – before handing the phone to the user. I always like to test that everything is set up correctly that is all. Good luck!

  11. CJ December 5, 2013 at 5:05 am #

    Hi there Susan! I was wondering how fast the text messaging updates? Does it automatically sync or does the user do it manually online? Thanks for any insight!

    • Susan Kennedy December 5, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      It syncs automatically – with some features you can change the reporting intervals. Texts update every 20 minutes as far as I remember. Great question thanks.

      • Yana February 1, 2017 at 9:43 am #

        Hi Susan. Are the iCloud credentials enough?
        I mean I won’t need the target phone physically??

        • Susan Kennedy February 6, 2017 at 10:45 am #

          For the no jailbreak method all you need is their iCloud credentials and the target device to have backups in iCloud set up. If the backups are not already enabled you would need to do this on the actual phone – otherwise no physical access is needed.

  12. don January 13, 2014 at 4:25 am #

    Do you know of any software that allows you to install without access to target cell phone?

    • Susan Kennedy January 15, 2014 at 11:32 am #

      No, No and No again. If you want to lose your money go ahead and try one. I keep repeating this and I understand many people really want it to work like that but it just doesn’t. You must install software on to the target phone – any claiming otherwise are scams.

  13. Shellie January 13, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    Are you certain mspy would work on an iPhone 3?

  14. zaro February 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    what if the phone i want to track is international. For example, im in America and the phone i want to track is in Iran. then would mspy work for me?

    • Susan Kennedy February 12, 2014 at 11:56 am #

      Yes it works anywhere in the world as long as there is an internet connection. Remember you need to install it on to the target phone first.

  15. matt February 23, 2014 at 6:27 am #

    What of the target phone is locked. .. Can you still download the software ? Matt

    • Susan Kennedy February 24, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      If it is locked (as in password protected) you will not be able to use the phone to download the software – unless you can bypass the lock. Google is your friend. There are ways for most phones.

  16. Jhonny June 4, 2014 at 5:05 am #

    What if I activate it on a target phone and then the target phone changes number and phone model and I have a 12 month premium. I’m at around month 6 of my service for example, will I loose the rest of the 6 months? or can the remainder months be transferred to another target phone?

    • Susan Kennedy June 11, 2014 at 1:01 pm #

      You can transfer your license to another phone at any time during your contract. You need to contact their support for this. Good question – thanks.

  17. Dave June 6, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

    Is jailbreak a requirement for an install on IOS 7 or is jailbreak only a requirement for some of the features to work.

    • Susan Kennedy June 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Jailbreaking is required for any iPhone/ iPad – the software can’t be installed at all without the Jaibreak (none can). Avoid any programs that claim otherwise – you’ll get scammed!

  18. claire August 21, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

    I don’t know a lot about technical aspect, But If I do want to install this on an android, is it a must that the phone has to be rooted?

    • Susan Kennedy September 1, 2014 at 3:50 pm #

      Rooting is not required for most of the main features – just a few of the social app monitoring features. Everything else will work fine – but rooting is pretty easy so don’t let it put you off.

  19. Anthony September 4, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

    Can this be installed on an iTouch?

    • Susan Kennedy September 15, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

      Yes as long as there is an internet connection – either a data plan or wi-fi.

  20. kid craz September 9, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    Can I monitor more than one device at the time…like two kids with two cell phones?

    • Susan Kennedy September 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

      You can but you will need to purchase two licenses. They can be monitored and reports viewed from one user account and online dashboard.Hope that makes sense!

  21. crystal September 11, 2014 at 1:08 am #

    I hear you guys speak of downloading the app on the “target phone”. Is the target phone considered my phone or the phone that I want to be tracked?

    • Susan Kennedy September 15, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

      The target phone is the one you wish to monitor/track.

  22. k September 29, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    If I buy 3 months then what happens after 3 months
    any notification will pop up to the target phone?
    How to uninstall the program from the target phone?
    Do I have to grab the target phone and uninstall it directly
    or I can remotely uninstall it?

    • Susan Kennedy September 30, 2014 at 9:50 am #

      Hi there, no notifications are sent to the target phone – you will be notified in the dashboard and sent an email reminding you that your license is due to expire. You can remove the software from the phone from your online dashboard and do not need access to the target phone again. Good questions – thanks!

  23. Zaman October 14, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    Hi, if user send a message on Whatsapp and then delete it from his phone, can it still be tracked?
    Can you also record Viber calls?

    • Susan Kennedy October 15, 2014 at 9:15 am #

      It will log the message as soon as it is sent – if it is then deleted the message is still logged and caught by the software. It doesn’t record Viber calls – just shows the log (time stamp, contact) and any text messages.

  24. Alex November 4, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    I tried one ‘app’ called topspy which also recorded phone calls and surroundings but for some reason they just suddenly stopped trading. I now use mspy but wondered are there any good but reasonably priced (preferably pay monthly so it can be tested out first) apps that can record calls too? Thanks

    • Susan Kennedy November 6, 2014 at 12:43 pm #

      Several companies have stopped trading recently – and most have removed the recording features due to legal concerns. Flexispy is the only company right now which supports call recording and live call intercept (listening to actual calls live). These features do cost more but they now offer 3 month contracts making it more affordable to try out.Thanks for your question and good luck.

  25. dre December 23, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

    Is it better to install the software before or after the social apps are added?

    Ie. Does the software work better if I buy the phone and install it right away. Or should I wait until my child adds their social apps and THEN install mSpy after.

    • Susan Kennedy December 30, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

      It doesn’t really matter – both will work. Personally, I would install the software right from the start.

  26. Mum January 28, 2015 at 9:48 am #

    Can the recipient phone tell it is being monitored? Does it get any message of any sort to say that monitoring is taking place?

    • Susan Kennedy January 29, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

      mSpy and Flexispy are completely hidden. As far as I know Mobilespy is the only one to show an icon that the phone / device is being monitored – which is why I stopped recommending it.

  27. FF February 23, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

    If I cannot jailbreak an iphone what are the limitations from using the apple id as a way in.

    • Susan Kennedy April 13, 2015 at 10:22 am #

      Reporting is not as regular – only updated a couple of times a day usually – plus only some features work with the apple id method. It is nowhere near as useful as the actual software – but still better than nothing. You can monitor texts, call logs, browser history and contacts.

      • D December 31, 2015 at 9:40 am #

        With the non jailbreak version, if a text is deleted prior to an icloud backup, is it logged?

        • Susan Kennedy February 6, 2016 at 11:04 am #

          Yes, it will still be logged. They are captured on being sent and received.

  28. randy April 24, 2015 at 1:01 am #

    Can I moniter the target from my mobile devise or will I have to use a computer?

    • Susan Kennedy May 14, 2015 at 10:06 am #

      You can check the logs and all reports from any device with internet access – just like logging on to any website. A PC is not necessary.

  29. sara April 29, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    Hi Susan!

    i haven’t figured out what android program is on the target phone but when i do can u help me decide which program would work the best the most discreetly?

    all i need really is text records i don’t need apps or phone calls..maybe facebook but i still think the texts alone will do

    thank you so much for your time! i look forward to your response

    • Susan Kennedy May 14, 2015 at 10:00 am #

      If you only need to monitor text messages – the cheapest version of mSpy will be hard to beat. It is discreet and works well. Check out all of my reviews before you decide.

  30. Jason May 10, 2015 at 9:29 pm #

    Hi Susan,
    Is it worth using MSpy to attempt to track a phone which is overseas? Was hoping to gain Viber msgs but will not have access to the target phone. Still worth trying?
    Regards, Jason

    • Susan Kennedy May 14, 2015 at 9:42 am #

      You must have physical access to the target phone to install the software to begin with – after that, monitoring will work anywhere in the world as long as there is an internet connection. But you must have the phone in your possesion to begin with.

  31. Dunny May 12, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

    So I have an iPhone but want to install it on my sons android. I saw for some social media apps the android has to be rooted etc which I understand. But my iphone doesn’t need to be jail broken just to read the targets phone (android) information does it? Its only if the target phone is an iPhone that it need to be jail broke right?

    • Susan Kennedy May 14, 2015 at 9:38 am #

      That is correct. Only the target phone matters – your phone does not come into it as no software will be installed on it. I know people get confused about this so thanks for your comment.

  32. Andrew July 13, 2015 at 12:01 pm #

    I want to be able to read my child’s Facebook messenger, we both have IPhone 5S and I have passcode for phone and iCloud login details but phones are not jail breaked, will this software work?

    • Susan Kennedy July 31, 2015 at 1:20 pm #

      At the moment messenger services like FB Messenger can’t be monitored without the full version mspy software on a Jailbroken iPhone. The No Jailbreak version will work, but it will not cover FB messenger.

  33. bob August 15, 2015 at 9:24 am #

    Will m spy catch the text message the second it goes out? Target likes to delete message very quickly after being sent out

    • Susan Kennedy August 25, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

      Yes – even if deleted right away, the message is still logged and collected.

  34. Lacey September 1, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

    Will the app view contents of a memory card?

    • Susan Kennedy September 15, 2015 at 1:22 am #

      Yes – any files, photos and videos etc. on the memory card will be reported.

  35. bobby September 16, 2015 at 9:38 pm #

    HI,

    I am concerned about whether an icon will appear on the target phone. The FAQ from the website says:

    “Is mSpy icon displayed on the monitored device?
    Right after the installation, mSpy application is launched and starts working in a background mode. The icon which appears after mSpy installation does not contain any settings for mSpy functionality. For better user experience, there are 2 options: either to keep it on the dashboard of the monitored device or not.”

    THis suggests to me that an icon does appear. It also is not clear what it means that the icon can be kept on the dashboard or not. Any ideas what all this means?

    • Susan Kennedy September 21, 2015 at 3:57 am #

      It can be a little confusing – it simply means that during installation you can choose to have the mSpy icon visible to the phone user or Not visible. Most people will choose to have the app remain totally hidden but in some cases people like to have the user made aware that they are being monitored – for example on a company cell phone. Hope that helps.

  36. Jason September 20, 2015 at 12:38 pm #

    Hi Susan.
    I love your post. Very thorough and helpful. However, do you know of any other app that has the keylogger function without having to jailbreak the phone? I have been suspecting that my daughter has got her hands on some dating apps. She’s only 15, very naive and curious so im honestly afraid she would actually come to meet some random strangers and put herself in danger. I tried to jailbreak her phone so many times in order to install any spy app i could find but she would soon find out her phone has been jailbroken and quickly do the factory reset. I dont want to keep yelling at her everytime which would make the situation even worse and taking back her phone is not an option since i need her to be able to contact me should something comes up. I really need to know what she says to those strangers on those dating sites so i can prevent any terrible incident that might happen.. If you are also a parent im sure you can understand my fear.Thanks!

    • Susan Kennedy September 21, 2015 at 3:46 am #

      Hi Jason, I get so many emails and comments just like yours – you are not alone with these problems! The only reliable way to get any monitoring without Jailbreaking an iPhone is to use the No Jailbreak solution from mSpy. It does not offer full keylogging and isn’t as functional as the regular software download but it is still a decent option. It will give you some peace of mind and help you keep an eye on things. You do need to have the phone set to backup with iCloud (free and most are), and you need the Apple ID and Password. It works well and is a good solution if jailbreaking isn’t an option. Good luck and thanks for your comment.

  37. Lynne Jensen October 6, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

    How long does it take to install this software on the target phone? How long would I reasonably need to expect to have it in my possession?

    • Susan Kennedy October 9, 2015 at 4:06 am #

      I can install it in under 5 minutes – but allow 10 minutes or so – don’t rush it, that’s how people mess up!

  38. Hayley October 20, 2015 at 2:03 pm #

    Will the non-jailbroken version track SMS too, not only iMessage texts?

    • Susan Kennedy October 24, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      Yes it will collect all SMS text messages sent and received. Thanks for the question – good luck.

  39. Lima October 22, 2015 at 4:12 am #

    Okay so can I see the all contents from snapchat or just those that the target phone save ?

    • Susan Kennedy October 24, 2015 at 7:40 am #

      You can view the contents – they are logged as they are sent or received – they don’t need to be saved on the device. Hope that helps.

  40. James October 24, 2015 at 5:54 am #

    Hi,

    Does anything ever show on phone that would give away that it is being monitored with the no jail break version?

    james

    • Susan Kennedy November 7, 2015 at 7:36 am #

      No – it would be virtually impossible to know if it is being monitored – there is no software for any “expert” to find as the account is monitored online through the backups.

  41. Mike December 22, 2015 at 6:13 pm #

    Good post. If the target phone only connects to Wi-Fi once a day for one hour will the text messages that have been deleted still be reported?

    • Susan Kennedy January 6, 2016 at 3:48 am #

      Yes – even if they are deleted afterwards. They are logged by the program when they are sent and received and stored for sending to the online reporting dashboard – when the internet is connected.

  42. Eli December 26, 2015 at 11:35 pm #

    Hi susan
    Will mspy work in a notebook? If yes, do i need to purchase the desktop version?

    • Susan Kennedy January 6, 2016 at 3:46 am #

      It depends on the operating system the notebook is running. For example – if it is Windows, then the desktop version is needed – if Android, then the mobile version. Thanks for your question.

  43. RA February 5, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    hi Susan,
    Love ur posts. 🙂
    For the mSpy No Jailbreak version, are the whatsapp messages captured as they are sent or received?
    Or do the chats have to there before the mspy picks it?

    • Susan Kennedy February 6, 2016 at 10:36 am #

      They are captured being sent and received – both sides of the conversation. With the no jailbreak version they will not be uploaded to the dashboard in real time, only when the backup is updated in iCloud. You can adjust this frequency of updating though. Hope that is what you meant.

  44. John February 24, 2016 at 3:01 am #

    When i start monitoring (none jailbroken ) Iphone , using Icloud ID , will the user get notification in their Email , that someone just logged in to their Icloud?

    • Susan Kennedy March 5, 2016 at 8:16 am #

      No there will be no notifications sent. Good question – thanks.

  45. Anj March 1, 2016 at 2:26 am #

    For the mspy no jailbreak version for iPhone is it possible to install the software without having physical access to the phone ?

    • Susan Kennedy March 5, 2016 at 8:27 am #

      For the no jailbreak version – no software is installed on the target device – it is monitored using the iCloud backups and you need their Apple ID and password – all monitoring is seen in the online dashboard (website). As long as the target device is running iCloud backups, you don’t actually need to access the phone.

      • Lo April 7, 2016 at 3:03 am #

        I assume this means that if the target phone does not backup to iCloud then the only option is to use the Jailbreak version? Even if the target phone has an Apple ID and Password???

        • Susan Kennedy April 8, 2016 at 5:02 am #

          That is correct – unless you go in and set up iCloud backups.

  46. Chris April 26, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

    Am I able to view sent and received pictures with this software?

    • Susan Kennedy April 28, 2016 at 11:49 am #

      Yes – all pictures and videos too. It is very powerful – have a good read of my reviews to see many of the capabilities.

  47. Nicole May 10, 2016 at 11:52 am #

    Myspy without jailbreak… Does it show text messages that are already on the phone? Or will it only show ones that come in after you have downloaded? Also, is there anything else on the market that doesn’t require a jailbreak?

    • Susan Kennedy May 12, 2016 at 11:37 am #

      If the old messages are still saved on the phone they will be collected in the backups and you can see them. Be careful looking for other products that claim to not need Jailbreak – this one works, but requires iCloud credentials. Many false claims around so take care.

  48. Jess May 19, 2016 at 5:32 pm #

    Can I install mspy first then later on another day root it? Will everything still work even the social media accounts?

    • Susan Kennedy June 1, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

      No, you will need to Root first and then install the software for everything to work properly.

  49. Gautamm June 5, 2016 at 6:27 am #

    Hi, If I install this software on mobile phone in America and the employee goes on a tour to UK. There he puts a new UK sim for few days and removes Americas SIM. Will the software still work on phone ?

    • Susan Kennedy June 13, 2016 at 6:04 pm #

      Yes that should still work ok – remember the software is on the phone, not the sim card. As long as there is internet connectivity the reports should still be available.

  50. ankush June 6, 2016 at 11:20 am #

    Hello Susan I have two question for you

    1.is it possible to get call recording in mspy,and if not which app you will suggest for that purpose

    2.I found one link which says you get 30 % discount on mspy, are these links real?

    • Susan Kennedy June 13, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

      There is no call recording feature with mspy – Flexispy do have this. I think 30% off will be fake. They only do discounts on their main site at special times of the year such as Black Friday – sometimes they do random discounts – but never 30%. Some sites do this to just draw you in – then you find the discount doesn’t exist.

  51. JK June 9, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

    If you load Mspy and then decide that you want to root the phone later for more access, will the software automatically monitor them or will it need to be reloaded.

    Also is it easy to remove from the target phone if I decide to when my child turns 18

    • Susan Kennedy June 13, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

      If you root the phone later you would need to re-install the software. It is very easy to remove – you can do it from the online dashboard without even having access to the phone again.

  52. Peter June 11, 2016 at 10:20 pm #

    mSpy without jailbreak. Does it show the pictures within messages or only the messages themselves with the text ? Assuming the phone is set to fully sync to icloud, does it also allow the pictures etc on the phone to be viewed ?

    • Susan Kennedy June 13, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

      Yes pictures will be included. Plus any media – pictures and video etc saved in the phone.

  53. Steven June 16, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

    Checking this is real….

  54. Rosanna June 18, 2016 at 10:55 am #

    If I purchased the mspy today..within how much time I have to install it in the target phone. Is there any time limit? Is it necessary to root the android device for monitoring?

    • Susan Kennedy July 5, 2016 at 9:12 am #

      Once you purchase the license you can install the software any time that suits you – no time limit. Rooting Android is not absolutely necessary but some features are only available for rooted devices. For best results rooting is recommended.

  55. Erika June 21, 2016 at 10:32 pm #

    Can you see old text messages from before mspy was put on the phone? Like a whole previous conversation once mspy is downloaded? Thanks!

    • Susan Kennedy July 5, 2016 at 9:07 am #

      If those messages are still stored on the phone you will see them all.

  56. Dani June 22, 2016 at 3:46 am #

    Can mspy access Facebook messenger ?

    • Susan Kennedy July 5, 2016 at 9:06 am #

      Yes – it monitors everything on Facebook – including messenger chats.

  57. Lady July 16, 2016 at 6:54 am #

    Will this app work in a samsung galaxy 5 without been rooted? Target user will not leave phone unattended for 10 minutes. Any other options? Also, once is installed, are there any settings that need to be done on target phone?
    Thanks!

    • Susan Kennedy July 20, 2016 at 11:11 am #

      It will work on that device – if unrooted not all features will be available but the basics still work. There is no way to get around needing access to the phone for a short time. The installation will guide you for any settings that need to be made – easy enough to follow.

  58. Doug July 20, 2016 at 5:53 am #

    If I have an iPhone and my son has an android, will I still be able to see the activity on his android? Something in the above article confused me a tad. And how is it installed on the target phone? Are you downloading the app from the Google marketplace? I am no idea how to use an android.

    • Susan Kennedy August 4, 2016 at 11:09 am #

      Your phone type does not matter. His phone- the target – is what needs to be compatible. It is installed by entering the download link supplied into his phone’s internet browser – just a web link, not from the Play Store. You can then see the reports of all activity by going online to the spy company website dashboard (you will get the login details by email) you can view these on a PC or your phone web browser. I hope that helps – have a good look around this site to find more detailed information.

  59. Strawhat July 31, 2016 at 10:50 am #

    Is mspy hidden on an android phone that is not rooted? I’m jst trying to make sure that it is hidden, like an icon will appear, or a notification will appear, etc..
    Hopefully you can reply to this one fast. lol.
    Thank you!

    • Susan Kennedy August 4, 2016 at 10:58 am #

      Yes it is still hidden on an unrooted Android. No icons or anything will show up.

  60. Susan September 11, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

    We have three phones on our ICloud connected to the same Apple ID. Is there a way to limit the access of the spyware to only one phone?

    • Susan Kennedy September 12, 2016 at 11:17 am #

      You can select the device you want to monitor during the setup process – regardless of the number on the icloud account. The license is only valid for one device anyway. Hope that helps.

  61. Nicola September 15, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

    Whose phone needs to be jail broken; mine or the targets, or both?

  62. Ron October 7, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

    with the iPhone non-jailbroken/no access to target phone software option, am I able to switch between devices on only one license? so that I can test on my phone before putting on the target phone?

    • Susan Kennedy November 1, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

      Yes you can switch any time with no problems – as long as you only monitor one device at a time (per license purchase).

  63. Sara October 12, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

    With the no jailbreak spy option, will the owner receive an email (from apple iCloud) to their email account in order to tell them that there iCloud account has been signed into at another location?

    • Susan Kennedy October 21, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

      No – there are no notifications to alert them.

  64. Chris October 28, 2016 at 10:37 am #

    Hi there, I’ve found your article very interesting – I’m intrigued though, you say that if you have the iCloud log ins you can access an iphone without jail breaking or actually handling the phone. Does that apply to all iPhone versions and all iOS software versions up to the latest one? Thanks

    • Susan Kennedy November 1, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

      Yes the no jailbreak method covers all iOS versions.

  65. chris November 1, 2016 at 5:08 am #

    Will mspy be detected with the app “DU Battery saver”?

    -Online it states that it can detect all background apps running that are draining power. If so, how can I disable to app from making the mspy visible?

    • Susan Kennedy November 1, 2016 at 1:18 pm #

      It will not be detected – it is hidden from the background apps list.

  66. Vlord January 12, 2017 at 4:47 pm #

    Wow Susan, you’ve kept up on this stream of comments and replies for over 3 years now. I’m impressed! Quick question- will mspy read Snapchat messages both directions, or outgoing ones only?

    • Susan Kennedy January 24, 2017 at 2:52 pm #

      It tracks both sides of all messages.

      • John May 26, 2017 at 12:52 am #

        Can it run on IOS 10.3

        • Susan Kennedy May 25, 2017 at 3:26 pm #

          The non jailbreak version can run on all versions of Ios. The full version will work up to 9.3 – but check their site for latest updates as this changes frequently.

  67. Elise April 1, 2017 at 5:25 am #

    Will it still be possible to detect it by norton even after installation?

    • Susan Kennedy June 15, 2017 at 3:46 pm #

      Virus programs will not flag most spy apps – none prove reliable at this.

  68. York April 6, 2017 at 2:19 pm #

    Hi Susan just to be clear… If I put mspy on to a Android phone with Samsung Galaxy Note 4 running version 6.0.1 it will be able to record the text messages, and emails without Rooting the phone first? Correct?

    • Susan Kennedy April 10, 2017 at 3:44 pm #

      Yes those feature will work well without the need to root the device.

  69. Tammy May 10, 2017 at 7:22 pm #

    With the no jailbreak spy option, will the owner receive an email or notice that their icloud was logged into from somewhere else ? Also will the person be able to tell that the device is being monitored? The no jailbreak option works with ipad?

    • Susan Kennedy June 15, 2017 at 3:38 pm #

      They will not get any notification and it is extremely difficult to find. Works on iPad using iCloud backups. Hope that helps.

  70. DP May 19, 2017 at 2:34 pm #

    Susan, very helpful info. I suspect someone tapping my phone. I backup onto icloud and erase all on my phone. Now to restore from iCloud is there a chance if a SPY software was installed on my phone that it has backup into iCloud and restore as well?

    • Susan Kennedy June 15, 2017 at 3:35 pm #

      The software would not re-install from a backup. If the phone has been factory reset then the installation needs to be repeated physically on the device. The exception is if they are using the non jailbreak version – then they will receive the data as before (because there is no software on the device for this method of monitoring). Hope that helps.

  71. MK June 1, 2017 at 8:34 am #

    If the iphone has 2 factor verification can you still use mpsy on it?

    • Susan Kennedy June 15, 2017 at 3:19 pm #

      Yes of course. Both the Jailbreak and non jailbreak versions can still be used if the person gains access to the phone.

Leave a Reply

*