If you are confused about the icons or symbols that appear next to the messages you send to people on Facebook Messenger, go through this brief explainer below to get a better idea. Usually, these icons indicate the status of your message.
Common Facebook Messenger Symbols and Icons List
Here is a list of the most common FB Messenger symbols and icons you are likely to come across – along with what they mean.
The following icons usually appear next to your message:
Blue Circular Outline
This open blue circle suggests that your message is still sending and has not been delivered to the recipient. It would be a good idea to wait until your message is delivered before you leave the chat window.
Blue Circular Outline with Check Mark
This circular outline with a check mark inside it indicates that your message has been sent by the Facebook servers but may not have been received yet by the recipient.
If you are not friends on Facebook with the recipient, this icon will still appear next to your message even if they have received it. This means that the message is in their ‘Message Requests’ list and they have not yet opened it.
Filled Blue Circle with Check Mark
When you see a filled blue circle with a check mark next to your message, it is an indicator that the message has been successfully sent to the recipient. However, this does not mean that they have opened and read your message.
Small Circular Profile Photo
When you see a small circular profile photo of the recipient next to your message, this suggests that the recipient has opened and read your message.
Red Triangle with Exclamation Point
If you see a small red triangle with an exclamation point inside it next to your message, it indicates that your message was not sent to the recipient.
If you see this icon, check your internet connection and try again. Try not to leave the chat until your message has been sent.
How to Know If Your Message Was Read
Usually, the profile photo of the recipient will appear next to your message to indicate that they have read your message. However, if they read the message from their notifications without opening the app, you will not be able to definitely know if they read your message.
Can You Delete or Unsend a Sent Message?
Once you have sent a message, you can either delete it just for yourself or unsend it completely. To do this, long tap on the message, click on ‘Remove’ and select either ‘Unsend’ or ‘Remove for You’.
If you unsend the message, it will be replaced by the text ‘you unsent a message’ that the recipient will also be able to see.
You can also delete (irreversible action) or archive (reversible action) your entire chat with someone.
What Is the Difference between Sent and Delivered?
Sent messages (blue circular outline with check mark) indicate that your message has been sent but the recipient is not connected to the internet to receive the message.
Delivered messages (filled blue circle with check mark) indicate that your message has been received but not read or opened by the recipient.
What Is a Message Request?
If you receive a message from someone you are not friends with on Facebook, the message will appear under ‘Message Requests’. This is the same for the recipient if you send a message to someone you are not friends with.
If this happens, you can either ‘Accept’ or ‘Ignore’ the message after you read it.
Can You Mark a Message as Unread?
You have the option of marking a message as unread on Messenger. However, this only works on your end. The sender will still be able to see that you have read the message.
The Final Word
You now know what all the confusing icons mean on Facebook Messenger and what they tell you about the message that you send to someone.
In addition, some questions that people are commonly confused about were also answered to make it easier for you to navigate Facebook Messenger.
Hopefully, this post was able to give you enough clarity about the icons and the app. You should now be able to use the app without any concerns and plan how you want to send your messages to someone.