Facebook has become an extremely popular social media platform in recent years and allows you to connect with your family and long-lost friends by simply “accepting” a friend request.
The platform is a great way by which you can not only keep in touch with people but also keep up with everything your contacts are up to.
What Is Facebook Messenger?
You can still keep in touch with people even if you’re not on Facebook, via Messenger, which is the messaging or chat service of Facebook (FB).
If you’re using your computer (PC or Mac), you can simply go onto Messenger.com and access it. Or, you can download the Messenger app on your Android or iPhone and access it directly.
Messenger allows you to chat with your contacts via text. You can also send photos, videos, GIFs, stickers, etc. You can also use Facebook Messenger to play games, share your location, send money to people and even request a cab.
The oft-asked question is “how to tell if you have been blocked by someone from their Facebook Messenger contact list?” In this article, we’ll discuss how to know if you’ve been blocked on Messenger.
How to Tell If You Have Been Blocked by Someone on Messenger
For security and privacy reasons, Facebook does not make it easy to tell if you have been blocked by someone and if someone has blocked your account, you won’t get a confirmation of this.
However, you can do a bit of digging and find out if you have been blocked by a contact on the basis of how the Messenger behaves when sending a message.
Here are a few tips and techniques by which you can tell if you have been blocked by someone on FB Messenger. You must remember that if a person blocks you on Messenger, this doesn’t mean that they have also blocked you on Facebook.
Even if the person has blocked you on Messenger, you will still be friends with them on FB and you can view their location, activities and timeline.
While you will not be able to send any private messages, you can interact with them on Facebook but you will not be able to send any private messages. And, if a person has blocked you on Messenger, they can unblock you anytime.
On Your Mobile
Checking if you have been blocked by your contact on Messenger via your mobile is very simple. Try sending a message to the person and see if it goes through.
- Open the Messenger app on your mobile.
- Click on the search bar on Messenger and type the person’s name.
- Select the person’s profile from the list.
- Type a message and press “Send”.
- If the message does not go through and you get a message “This person isn’t receiving messages at this time” or “Message Not Sent”.
- This may mean that the person has blocked your messages, completely blocked you on FB or deactivated their FB account.
Via Your Computer
- Go onto Messsenger.com via your browser and log in to your Messenger account.
- Click on the “Create a New Message” icon, which is located on the left-hand top corner.
- Type the name of the person in the search box.
- Click the profile picture of the contact to chat with the person.
- If you have been blocked by the person, you won’t be able to send a message.
- You will get the message “This person is not available right now”.
You may be sometimes able to send messages to the person but they either remain unseen or you don’t receive a reply. This means that the person may have added you to ignored conversations or the restricted list.
Do a Search Engine Search
Another method by which you can determine if someone has blocked you on Messenger is to put their name in the search box, located on the top corner of the homepage and do a search.
The name you have typed should appear as a list of names to match the name you have typed in. If you have been blocked, the name of the person will not appear on the FB search engine.
Tag the Person
In the search box, type in the name of the person and once you find their name, tag them. When you do this, it will open a chat automatically and you can send the person a message. You will not be able to tag the person in the picture if they have blocked you.
Check Your History
If you have been exchanging messages with the person, then the messages will show up in your inbox. Click on the message board to expand it and look at the display pic of the user.
If you’re able to see the photo in a white outline, it means that everything is as it should be and that you’re in contact with the person.
However, if you cannot see a picture and it appears black and if you’re not able to click on the profile of the person, it means that they have blocked you from their contact list.
Check If the User Account Has Been Deactivated
If you have sent the person a message and if you get an error message, then check if the account has been deactivated, which can be done in 2 ways.
- If you’re not able to find the person’s profile or search for their name, then it is probably because the person has deactivated their account or blocked you completely. However, if you do find the person’s account online but cannot access it, it means that you have been blocked.
- Another way to check if the person is off Facebook is to get a mutual friend to check the person’s profile and if the friend is also not able to see the person’s account, then it means that it has been deactivated. However, if the mutual friend can see the profile, it means that you have been blocked by the user.
How to Block a Person on FB Messenger
Now that you know how you can determine if you’ve been blocked by a contact on FB Messenger, you may be keen to know how you can block someone on Messenger too.
This may be because of personal reasons, if the person is sending you spam or if the profile you’re blocking is hacked or stolen. You can do this in a few simple steps:
On Your Smartphone
- Open Messenger and search for the contact you want to block.
- Open your chat with the person and click the information or “i” button on the top right corner of the screen.
- Choose the “Block” option, which you will find in the list.
- You will then get a window with 2 options:
- Block the messages from the contact, so that you stop receiving any more text messages or voice calls on FB messenger.
- Block the contact on Facebook, related to the profile on social media and not just Messenger. This will ensure that the person will not be able to view your profile at all.
You can block the contact by choosing the selection boxes and then another page asks to confirm the blocking on Facebook also.
On Your Computer
- Open Facebook on your computer and select the chat window of the contact you want to block on Messenger.
- Once the window opens, click the arrow to the right of the person’s name.
- Click on the “Block” option and you will see the same two options of whether you want to block the contact on FB Messenger or Facebook also using the same process as described earlier.
So, in conclusion, you now have the information and tips of how to know if someone has blocked you on FB Messenger and how you can block a contact that you don’t wish to chat with. We hope that this article has been helpful in giving you the information you need.